CPLP Modules


In 2004, the American Society for Training & Development (ASTD) set out to create a new model for Workplace Learning and Performance (WLP) professionals so that practitioners could better excel in their current and future positions with the field.  Their competency study, “Mapping the Future: Shaping New Workplace Learning and Performance Competencies,” served as the foundation for the original ASTD competency model. In 2013 the competency model was reorganized and one area of expertise was added: Learning Technologies.


The Competency Model 

The ASTD competency model has two layers. The first layer includes those foundational competencies that are desirable of any successful WLP professional regardless of their specialization in the field  The second layer includes areas of expertise; these specialized areas are the specific knowledge and skills that are built and rely upon the focused application of the foundational competencies. 


The Certified Professional in Learning and Performance Credential


The Modules 

The areas of expertise, the 2nd tier of the model, become important in identifying the necessary skills and knowledge needed for any WLP professional as they wear their many hats. The areas of expertise in the ASTD competency model are: performance improvement, instructional design, training delivery, evaluating learning impact, managing learning programs, integrated talent management, coaching, knowledge management, and change management.  The areas of expertise also serve as the foundation for the Certified Professional in Learning and Performance™ (CPLP) credential from the American Society for Training & Development (ASTD) Certification Institute. 



Module 1 Performance Improvement
Module 2 Instructional Design
Module 3 Training Delivery
Module 4 Learning Technologies
Module 5 Evaluating Learning Impact
Module 6 Managing Learning Programs
Module 7 Integrated Talent Management
Module 8
Module 9 Knowledge Management
Module 10 Change Management